Bankwest Forum

Ask a new question
Highlighted
SOLVED
Accepted Solution

increase credit card funds

Posted by Jinster Jinster
Message 1 of 6 1,095 Views

I have a Bankwest Platinum Mastercard with a limit of $10000.

I would like to make an overseas purchase worth approx $34000. The seller does not allow splitting of payments across multiple transactions or multiple cards.

Would I be able to deposit $24000 into my BW card via Bpay, thus giving me a total spending power of $34000 to allow for this one-off transaction?

0 Kudos
SOLUTION

Re: increase credit card funds

Posted by DanaeC DanaeC
Message 2 of 6 1,086 Views

Hi @Jinster, thanks for getting in touch.

To put it simply, yes! You'll have full access to the available amount in your account at any time you are selecting "Credit" at a Point of Sale terminal. The only other thing to consider here, is if the merchant has a set floor limit. This limit being the amount of a transaction that cannot be exceeded from the merchant's side.

It's also good to note that interest will only be accrued on the amount accessed within the limit of the card itself, and not on the whole purchase in this instance. As you have mentioned that you hold a Platinum Mastercard, the 2.95% Foreign Transaction Fee will also not apply here.

Hope this helps, let me know if you require any further information.

Was this helpful? Then give it 'Kudos'!

If your question was answered, select 'Accept as Solution' to make it easier for others to find.

[ Edited ]
Message 3 of 6 1,082 Views

Thank you for this very helpful answer.

Can I ask a follow-up question please.

When I go through a credit card purchase, can you please confirm that the exchange rates listed here does NOT apply? https://www.bankwest.com.au/personal/international/foreign-exchange/foreign-exchange-rates

My understanding is that the listed rates above is for buying and selling cash and/or dealing with money transfers.