Bankwest Forum

Ask a new question
SOLVED
Accepted Solution

Foreign exchange rates used for Credit Card purchases

Posted by DBWest DBWest
Message 1 of 9 2,533 Views

Hi,

I am new to Bankwest but not new to banking. I have had credit cards from different banks before and have used them overseas. I was really interested in the Bank West Platinum Mastercard Credit Card as there are no fees charged when purchasing overseas, which is usually 2.95% with other banks), so I was really excited as I travel overseas a lot and in the long run can save me a lot of money.

Hence I applied and got the credit card no problems. Then I went to China and used my card for the first time on the 18th of December 2018 (yesterday). I used it to pay for 212.4 Chinese Yuan, and no the hotel did not charge me any fees at all. This equates to approximately $42.96 (1 CNY = 0.202257 AUD) with the mastercard exchange rate (as it is a mastercard I am using, and yes I checked it online for both the 17th and the 18th due to timezones and differences and they are exactly the same on both days, https://www.mastercard.us/en-us/consumers/get-support/convert-currency.html).

HOWEVER, I got charged $44.84 (and yes I know that the rate will be different on the day it comes out, but that value there is the rate on the day which I used the credit card until it gets cleared). This equates to 1 AUD = 4.7368 ... or ... 1 CNY = 0.21111

I called up Bankwest for them to explain why I got charged more than the mastercard rate and the lady on the phone kept telling me that it is a Bankwest Rate and kept referring to me to the cash exchange rates online at bankwest website (1 AUD = 4.5889 CNY .... or..... 1 CNY = 0.217917 AUD). I believe this is incorrect because when you use a mastercard (especially a credit card) it is always the mastercard rate that is used not the banks exchange rate.