Bankwest Forum

Ask a new question

Card un-reliability in France, Germany and Austria

Posted by TonyP TonyP
Message 1 of 4 417 Views

I have recently returned from a month in France, Germany and Austria and thought I would report some issues that others may have experienced. It should also be a helpful warning to those about to to go to these countries.

I have a platinum mastercard credit account and two cards, one in my name and one in my partner's. Prior to this trip I used my card in Hungary, Austria and Italy in 2015 and it worked fine most of the time (80% plus). At that time and on this recent trip I let Bankwest know I was going and turned off SMS messages for verifications. My card still has a couple of years to run.

This time I found: 

• in France my card never worked successfully once, it failed in shops, on metro ticket machines, at museums, restaurants and so on. It was still working fine for internet purchases. My partner's card, which was issued after mine, about three years ago, worked nearly all the time, except on some older metro ticket machines. It was uneven in how it worked, sometimes tapping and going, sometimes tapping but demanding a pin, sometimes demanding to be inserted and then a pin, or even a pin and then a signature. 
    We survivedmy cards failure because hers did work. However, it meant she always had to be there to pay or, if I was on my own, I had to use my Westpac debit card, which always worked everywhere.
    If her card had also not worked in France it really would have been a major problem for our holiday
  • In Austria we almost had a flipped situation, her card worked only about a third of the time, mine nearly all the time, though mostly needing a signature.

• In Germany we both had around a 50% success rate, though at one point both cards were refused at a shop in Munich airport!